Netscape 4.8 for Mac is here

(Crossposting to This Old Mac and This Old Browser)

Even though you’re supposed to need Mac System 8 to install Netscape 4.8 (and since I can’t seem to get a clean copy of the 7.6.1-friendly version from system7today.com), I found another source for the elusive NS via http://www.pure-mac.com (go to http://www.pure-mac.com/webb.html for the site’s browser selection).

It led me to Netscape’s FTP site, and this file.

My first attempt to dowload a clean, unstuffable copy in Netscape 4.7 failed, and IE 5 wouldn’t let me do it at all. I gave 4.7 another try, and I got a good download. After unstuffing, the install program said I needed System 8-point-something to do the install. So I went into the Netscape Installer folder and clicked on the Netscape Installer icon … and the damn thing … installed. Brought all my preferences from 4.7 along with it.

Everything looks just as it did in 4.7, but it seems a tad faster (could be the long day). I’ll have to keep testing.

In other news, I installed Outlook Express 4.5 … didn’t work with DSL Extreme or Gmail. I haven’t bothered to try Gmail with Netscape, but I just might do that. It’s amazing that of all the programs out there that run on System 7.6.1, Netscape is the ONLY one that works for e-mail. I did get Usenet news through Outlook 4.5, but it didn’t organize it as well as Netscape, and if OE can’t do e-mail with today’s servers, it’s good for nothing. I suppose there are POP mail services out there that will work with these older programs, and I’m not saying I won’t investigate, but if DSL Extreme won’t run on it, I’m in serious doubt that much else will, either. (Even Yahoo lists Netscape 4 as being compatible with its POP service .. not so for OE 4.5 or 5).